Project methodology


CALEO carries out projects in coordination with the customer side. Stringent project implementation and the involvement of experienced consultants ensure the success of the project.

During conception and implementation, particular attention is paid to creating solutions that provide long-term benefits to the customer and that can be operated and further developed at a reasonable cost. In addition, care is taken to ensure that the new solution fits seamlessly into the customer's existing system landscape.

Agile or Classic?


Depending on the size of the project, the objectives, the subject area and the customer's wishes, we carry out projects in an integrated phase model that has proven itself in numerous SAP projects or in the currently very popular SCRUM methodology.

An agile project approach is particularly suitable for subject areas in which change requests occur frequently due to the fact that the target image has not yet been defined - in most cases there is no business blueprint yet - which can thus already be intercepted during implementation and reduce subsequent costly change requests to a minimum.

On the other hand, the integrated phase model is suitable for a large number of projects in the financial area - this includes in particular the topics of consolidated financial statements and business planning - as it creates clarity about project duration and performance at an early stage.

We have already carried out a large number of projects in both project methodologies and therefore have extensive experience in both worlds

Integrated phase model


The project methodology is based on the waterfall model and ensures a high degree of planning reliability. The overall project is divided into several project phases. For each phase, a start date and an end date are defined, as well as the associated deliverables. Delays in the schedule can thus be detected at an early stage and often avoided.

Concept

  • Requirements analysis
  • Creation of specifications

Design

  • Technical design
  • Creation of functional specification & detailed concept
  • Optional: Prototyping

Build

  • Architecture structure
  • System Customizing
  • Module test for individual functions
  • Preparation of SAP transports
  • Preparation of the documentation

Test

  • Structure test scenarios
  • Test complete system
  • Documentation of the test results
  • Troubleshooting

Rollout

  • Setup productive environment
  • System initialization
  • User training

Concept


Projects are usually started with a conception phase. During this phase, the business processes and customer-specific requirements are analyzed and defined. The rough concept (blueprint) to be created defines the basic functions of the application to be created and serves as the basis for scoping and further project planning. In the concept phase, the underlying technologies are also selected (software selection). If necessary or desired, a proof of concept is realized in the form of a prototype. The conception of a new application requires profound know-how about the underlying business processes as well as the possibilities of the available software.

CALEO designs processes and applications together with customer employees to ensure that all company specifics are sufficiently taken into account. Our consultants, in turn, contribute their expertise and many years of project experience in the financial sector to the concept phase.

Technical design


The starting point for the technical design (detailed concept) is the rough concept created during the concept phase with the requirements for the new solution. The technical design contains a detailed description of the data models, master data as well as the functions to be implemented and the associated processes. The detailed concept is approved by the customer before implementation begins and serves both as a basis for building the application and as a reference for later testing of the application according to the proven V-model approach.

The creation of the technical design requires in-depth knowledge of the software used. Our consultants specialize in specific software packages and bring this specialized knowledge to the technical design.

Implementation


The basis for implementation is the detailed concept from the design phase. The implementation typically starts with building the data model (e.g. BW InfoCubes). Then the logic of the application is implemented step by step. The individual subcomponents are already tested by the responsible team during implementation to ensure that the functionality described in the detailed concept is available. At the end of the implementation phase, all functions described in the detailed concept have been implemented and are ready for the overall test of the application.

Test


Following the construction of the application during the implementation phase, quality assurance is carried out as part of the test phase. The tests ensure that the required functionality according to the detailed concept is available and works under realistic conditions so that a smooth go-live can take place. Integration tests validate the interaction of all components along the individual process steps. A user acceptance test gives the subsequent users the opportunity to test the application extensively before going live.

Go-Live


After the application has been successfully tested and approved, it goes live. The objects are transferred from the development environment to the production environment. In addition, the new application is supplied with master data and, if necessary, with historical transaction data.

System documentation is created that describes customizing and in-house developments in detail. The system documentation is the basis for the subsequent maintenance and servicing of the system.

User documentation describes the use of the system from the perspective of the subsequent users. In the course of going live, training is also provided for future users.

Agile project methodology


The methodology dispenses with the classic waterfall approach often practiced in larger SAP projects and pursues the goal of quickly delivering tangible results for the client. If necessary Change requests requested by the customer can thus be integrated directly within the next iteration and thus cause lower project cost risks.

Project Backlog


At the beginning of the project, a project backlog is created together with the client's project team. The project backlog collects all deliverables and deliverables to be created.

Prioritization and sprint planning


In the course of sprint planning, services and deliverables are prioritized from the project backlog, coordinated with the client and a task backlog is created for a 14-day sprint.

Sprint


Subsequently, the task backlog is processed within the framework of a sprint. At the midpoint of each sprint, a sprint review is held by the project team in order to identify any issues. Identify necessary change requests at an early stage and, if possible, integrate them directly into the deliverable within the sprint. The goal of a sprint is to deliver functionalities and results to the client within the 14 iterations, which can then be tested at an early stage.

Result


At the end of each sprint, a results presentation takes place within a sprint review meeting. Tasks that are not completed are written back to the task backlog of the next iteration and prioritized again for the following sprint together with new task packages from the task backlog.

HABEN SIE INTERESSE


UND SIND AN WEITEREN INFORMATIONEN ODER EINEM FACHLICHEN AUSTAUSCH INTERESSIERT?

Projektmethodik


CALEO führt Projekte in Abstimmung mit der Kundenseite durch. Durch die stringente Projektdurchführung und die Einbindung von erfahrenen Beratern wird der Projekterfolg sichergestellt.

Bei der Konzeption und Umsetzung wird insbesondere darauf geachtet, dass Lösungen entstehen, die dem Kunden langfristig Nutzen stiften und mit vertretbarem Aufwand betrieben und weiterentwickelt werden können. Außerdem wird darauf geachtet, dass sich die neue Lösung nahtlos in die bereits existierende Systemlandschaft des Kunden einfügt.

Agil oder Klassisch?


Abhängig von der Projektgröße, Zielsetzung, Themenbereich und Kundenwusch führen wir Projekte in eine bei zahlreichen SAP Projekten bewährten integrierten Phasenmodell oder in der  zur Zeit sehr beliebten SCRUM Methodik durch.

Dabei eignet sich ein agiles Projektvorgehen insbesondere für Themenfelder in denen aufgrund des noch nicht festgelegten Zielbildes – meistens existiert noch kein Business Blueprint – häufig Änderungswünsche auftreten, die so bereits während der Implementierung abgefangen werden können und nachträgliche aufwändige Change Requests auf ein Minimum reduzieren.

Für eine Vielzahl von Projekten im Finanzbereich – hierzu gehören insbesondere die Themen Konzernabschluss und Business Planung – eignet sich hingegen das integrierte Phasenmodell, das zu einem frühen Zeitpunkt Klarheit über Projektlaufzeit und Leistung schafft.

Wir haben bereits eine Vielzahl von Projekten in beiden Projekt Methodiken durchgeführt und verfügen daher in beiden Welten über umfangreiche Erfahrung

Integriertes Phasenmodell


Die Projektmethodik ist an das Wasserfallmodell angelehnt und gewährleistet eine hohe Planungssicherheit. Das Gesamtprojekt wird in mehrere Projektphasen unterteilt. Für jede Phase werden ein Start- und ein Endtermin, sowie die zugehörigen Deliverables festgelegt. Verzögerungen im Zeitplan können so frühzeitig erkannt und oftmals vermieden werden.

Konzeption

  • Anforderungsanalyse
  • Erstellung Lastenheft

Design

  • Technisches Design
  • Erstellung Pflichtenheft & Feinkonzept
  • Optional: Prototyping

Build

  • Aufbau der Architektur
  • System Customizing
  • Modultest für Einzelfunktionen
  • Vorbereitung der SAP Transporte
  • Erstellung der Dokumentation

Test

  • Aufbau Testszenarien
  • Test Gesamtsystem
  • Dokumentation der Testergebnisse
  • Fehlerbehebung

Rollout

  • Aufbau Produktivumgebung
  • System Initialisierung
  • Anwendertraining

Konzeption


Projekte werden in der Regel mit einer Konzeptionsphase begonnen. Während dieser Phase werden die Geschäftsprozesse sowie die kundenspezifischen Anforderungen analysiert und definiert. Das zu erstellende Grobkonzept (Blueprint) definiert die grundlegenden Funktionen der zu erstellenden Anwendung und dient als Grundlage für das Scoping und die weitere Projektplanung. In der Konzeptphase werden außerdem die zugrundeliegenden Technologien ausgewählt (Softwareselektion). Falls erforderlich bzw. gewünscht wird ein Proof of Concept in Form eines Prototypen realisiert. Die Konzeption einer neuen Anwendung erfordert fundiertes Know-How über die zugrundeliegenden Geschäftsprozesse sowie die Möglichkeiten der zur Verfügung stehenden Software.

CALEO konzipiert Prozesse und Applikationen gemeinsam mit Kundenmitarbeitern, um sicherzustellen, dass alle Unternehmensspezifika ausreichend berücksichtigt werden. Unsere Berater wiederum bringen ihre Expertise und ihre langjährige Projekterfahrung im Finanzbereich in die Konzeptphase ein.

Technisches Design


Ausgangsbasis für das technische Design (Feinkonzept) ist das während der Konzeptphase erstellte Grobkonzept mit den Anforderungen an die neue Lösung. Das technische Design enthält eine detaillierte Beschreibung der Datenmodelle, Stammdaten sowie der zu realisierenden Funktionen und den damit verbundenen Prozessen. Das Feinkonzept wird vor dem Beginn der Implementierung durch den Kunden abgenommen und dient sowohl als Grundlage für den Aufbau der Applikation als auch als Referenz für den späteren Test der Applikation gemäß dem bewährten V-Model Ansatz.

Die Erstellung des technischen Designs erfordert tiefgehende Kenntnisse der verwendeten Software. Unsere Berater sind auf bestimmte Softwarepakete spezialisiert und bringen dieses Spezialwissen in das technische Design ein.

Implementierung


Grundlage für die Implementierung ist das Feinkonzept aus der Designphase. Die Implementierung beginnt typischerweise mit dem Aufbau des Datenmodells (z.B. BW InfoCubes). Anschließend wird die Logik der Applikation schrittweise implementiert. Die einzelnen Teilbestandteile werden bereits während der Implementierung durch das verantwortliche Team getestet, um sicherzugehen, dass die im Feinkonzept beschriebene Funktionalität vorhanden ist. Zum Ende der Implementierungsphase sind alle im Feinkonzept beschriebenen Funktionen implementiert worden und stehen für den Gesamttest der Applikation bereit.

Test


Im Anschluss an den Aufbau der Applikation während der Implementierungsphase erfolgt eine Qualitätssicherung im Rahmen der Testphase. Durch die Tests wird sichergestellt, dass die erforderliche Funktionalität laut Feinkonzept vorhanden ist und unter realistischen Bedingungen funktioniert, so dass eine reibungslose Produktivsetzung erfolgen kann. Im Rahmen von Integrationstests wird das Zusammenspiel aller Komponenten entlang der einzelnen Prozessschritte validiert. Ein User Acceptance Test gibt den späteren Anwendern die Möglichkeit die Anwendung vor der Produktivsetzung ausgiebig zu testen.

Go-Live


Nach dem erfolgreichen Test und der Freigabe der Applikation erfolgt die Produktivsetzung. Die Objekte werden aus der Entwicklungsumgebung in die Produktionsumgebung übernommen. Außer- dem wird die neue Applikation mit Stammdaten und falls erforderlich auch mit historischen Bewegungsdaten versorgt.

Es wird eine Systemdokumentation erstellt, die das Customizing und die Eigenentwicklungen detailliert beschreibt. Die Systemdokumentation ist die Grundlage für die spätere Wartung und Pflege des Systems.

Eine Anwenderdokumentation beschreibt die Nutzung des Systems aus Sicht der späteren Anwender. Im Zuge der Produktivsetzung werden auch Trainings für die späteren Anwender durchgeführt.

Agile Projektmethodik


Die Methodik verzichtet auf den in größeren SAP Projekten oftmals praktizierten klassischen Wasserfallansatz und verfolgt das Ziel für den Auftraggeber schnell greifbare Ergebnisse zu liefern. Ggfls. durch den Auftraggeber gewünschte Change Requests können so direkt innerhalb der nächsten Iteration integriert werden und verursachen somit geringere Projektkostenrisiken.

Projekt Backlog


Zu Beginn des Projektes wird gemeinsam mit dem Projektteam des Auftraggebers ein Projekt Backlog erstellt. Im Projekt Backlog werden alle Leistungen und zu erstellende Deliverables gesammelt.

Priorisierung und Sprintplanung


Aus dem Projekt Backlog werden im Ramen der Sprintplanung Leistungen und Deliverables priorisiert, mit dem Auftraggeber abgestimmt und ein Aufgaben Backlog für einen 14 Tägigen Sprint erstellt.

Sprint


Im Anschluß wird im Rahmen eines Sprints das Aufgaben Backlog abgearbeitet. Jeweils zur Sprintmitte findet ein Sprint Review des Projektteams statt um ggfls. notwendige Änderungswünsche frühzeitig zu erkennen und nach Möglichkeit direkt innerhalb des Sprints in das Deliverable zu intergrieren. Ziel eines Sprints ist es dem Auftraggeber bereits innerhalb der 14 tätigen Iterationen Funktionalitäten und Ergebnisse zu liefern, die somit frühzeit getestet werden können.

Ergebnis


Am Ende jedes Sprints findet innerhalb eines Sprint Review Meetings eine Ergebnispräsentation statt. Nicht abgeschlossene Aufgaben werden in das Aufgaben Backlog der nächsten Iteration zurückgeschrieben und zusammen mit neuen Aufgabenpaketen aus dem Aufgaben Backlog für den folgenden Sprint erneut priorisiert.

Haben Sie Interesse


und sind an weiteren Informationen oder einem fachlichen Austausch interessiert?